Organization Structure

Archives

Welcome Jennifer Hibbert

I have questions and answers about myself if you want to read more

 

What is your name and where are you from?

I am Jennifer Hibbert and I have been living in Metro-Vancouver for the past 21 years. I’m from Jamaica.

What will you be doing and when did you start?

Instructor. I started January 3rd.

Do you have a family?

Yes, I have a husband and 2 grown children. I have close friends in Metro-Vancouver who count as family, and lots of relatives living outside Metro-Vancouver. (It’s typical in Caribbean culture to recognize all family no matter how distant the relations )

What were you doing career-wise before you accepted this position?

I was an instructor with a college in Vancouver.

What is your educational background?

I’m a Registered Nurse, and I have a BA in Family Studies & Psychology – and a whole lot of life experience

What is your favourite thing to do outside of work?

Honestly, I aim at getting as much sleep as I can to cope with my demanding career. Apart from that, I am happy to be almost anywhere in nature – by a river or lake, at the park, camping.

Are there any accomplishments you'd like us to know about?

I’ve had some accomplishments (academic, & so forth), but I think learning to be a balanced person and to be a peace with myself. To embrace my strengths and challenges and to be always open to growth are ones I feel especially good about.

Are you involved in any organizations or community events?

I am involved in one of the meal ministries on the Vancouver Downtown Eastside. I try to make it with the rest of our group once a month to prepare and provide lunch for the people there who are in need.

Is there anything else you'd like to add?

I look forward to this term, and to getting to know the Selkirk community a bit better. I’ve worked in partnership with Selkirk on previous projects, so I don’t feel completely new to the college.

 

For more information contact Dean of Health and Human Services Rhys Andrews.

Published