SCOPE Award Winners Honoured

Special Evening at Castlegar Campus


Four inspirational instructors were honoured last month at the annual SCOPE Awards evening on the Castlegar Campus.

Selkirk College’s Standing Committee on Professional Excellence (SCOPE) recognized the four faculty members for their exceptional performance in the classroom and beyond. Sarah Fawcett, Sue Hackett, Sargent Hayden and Keyes Lessard were presented with the annual awards which are chosen after nominations from students and peers.

SCOPE Award Winners 2015

The annual SCOPE Awards were held on September 24 on the Castlegar Campus. The winners included (middle L-R) Sarah Fawcett, Sue Hackett, Keyes Lessard and Sargent Hayden. The winners are pictured here with Selkirk College Faculty Association President Duff Sutherland (left) and Selkirk College President Angus Graeme (right).

“These four individuals have a real strong connection to learning and their passion for education really comes through,” said Selkirk College President Angus Graeme.

Each award winner was presented their honour after an introduction from their peers. Words used to describe the individuals included “enthusiastic,” “collaborative,” “student focused,” “kind,” and dedicated.”

Award night host Danielle Cossarini concluded the evening with a passage from J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit where Bilbo Baggins fights through a particularly sticky situation.

“Doesn’t it take so much courage to be a teacher?” Cossarini said after reading the passage. “Finding that courage can be hard. Sometimes, like Bilbo, I feel like turning back, burying my head in the sand, running away. But then I come here and we spend the evening celebrating four amazing educators who might have thought at some point that it was all too hard, but they did not turn and run. They forged ahead, celebrating challenge and using it as a means to innovate in their teaching and empower their students. And I am inspired.”

Find out more about the four SCOPE award winners at


Learn more about the Selkirk College Faculty Association and join us on Facebook.